Mother and Son

Book 48 in 2020.

“Mother and Son The Respect Effect” by Emerson Eggerichs.

Emerson Eggerichs also wrote the marriage book “Love and Respect”. Which I thought was the best marriage book I have ever read. It made the most sense and I can actually honestly say made a drastic change in my marriage. My husband and I have been married for twenty years. Not saying it’s all been rosy, ha, but I think it’s not too shabby. Ha.

If you didn’t know we have four boys, ages 16, 14, 13, and 11. I feel like I was a much better parent when they were little. Now they all have their own ideas and agendas. Ha. I am not going to lie, sometimes it gets tense. I am also aware that I can set the tone of the household. Us moms have that power. When I saw this book, I was super eager to read it. It did not disappoint.

The respect effect is essentially recognizing the need that male persons (aka sons, husbands, men of all ages) have to be respected. How I can, as a mother, respect them growing into the men they were created to be. I know it sounds crazy right. “I am the one who needs to be respected. I am the parent!” However, it is all about changing communication skills and using “respect talk”. Building them up, not tearing them down. Expecting proper behavior, while teaching with appropriate life building words. In response, the sons will then engage in softened conversation.

I kid you not, this is insane truth! I have been working very hard at changing my dialogue in our home. And have seen a difference! I will continue to work on this, and wish I had read it sooner. At the end of the book, it offers a free twenty one day follow up email for moms to remind us what we are working on. I have in no way shape or form, accomplished anywhere near where I would like to be, but this has been a great start. I am open and willing to learn. Don’t knock it till ya read it. Overall afterthought, insanely good.

Leave a comment