Driving with the Top Down

Book 11 in 2018.

“Driving with the Top Down” by, Beth Harbison

download

I was trying to get away from some Amish drama with some fluffy chick lit.  You know, when you google “fluffy chick lit” and you get all kind of reviews that come up.  I read a few like this for this book:

Editorial Reviews. Review. “Harbison’s light-as-a-feather novel about three women on road trip is a drivetime pleasure no matter what ride you choose.” ―People Magazine

Sweet.  I’ll totally check it out.  Yeah, well, no lightness anywhere in this book.  Major spoiler alerts coming.

Colleen tells her husband she is going on the road trip to look for antiques for her antique shop.  But, secretly she is driving to confront his old college girlfriend to apologize for getting pregnant and ruining this girl and her husbands chance of eventually getting back together.  She has always felt she was her husbands second choice.  Her delinquent, teenage niece, Tamara, was thrust upon her at the last minute, because her father was going out of town and she couldn’t be trusted alone.  But she was a hot mess because her loser boyfriend recorded her “doing things” to him after getting high and drunk, then posted it on the internet.  While driving they run into Colleen’s estranged friend from college Bitty, who was preparing to commit suicide after finding her harsh, loveless husband engaged in “relations” with another man.  Now, do you think that sounds light and fluffy?

No. It wasn’t.  I really can’t figure out why I finished it?  Normally I would just put it down.  Lots of language, a few raunchy long sex scenes. Not funny.  Not fluffy.  It did however, have a nice happy ending.  The last three pages were good.

I feel crazy harsh. (PMDD… maybe?)  It could be, that it’s past my bedtime. (I know its like 9:45 pm!)  It could be, I am feeling a little under the weather.  It could be, that I have a little bit of cabin fever, and we have yet another snow day tomorrow (I love my four guys, but let the children go to school, we live in state where it snows ALL winter!!!) It could be, because I have black nail polish on right now. Overall afterthought, disappointed.

Leave a comment