The Covenant

Book 5 in 2018.

“The Covenant” by, Beverly Lewis

9780764210860_p0_v2_s

I was at a basketball tournament for one of the boys.  We had a three hour window between games, and I forgot a book.  Tragic, I know.  I have the kindle app on my phone, and since there was not great cell service, or WiFi, in the country school we were at,  I had to settle for a free book I had downloaded a couple years ago.  I have not read many Amish fiction books, maybe one or two.  Not my usual cup of tea, but why not?

It is the summer in the late 1940’s,  Leah is the second born daughter to Ida and Abram Ebersol.  There are four sisters in the Amish farming family from Lancaster.  The oldest sister Sadie is just finishing her rumspringa, where her family will turn their eyes to youthful wild ways.  However, Leah knows Sadie is walking a dangerous path of rebellion that could affect the entire family.  Both sisters are struggling with growing into women and what the future may hold for them.

Mercy.  I am not going to lie.  This is not my usual thing I like to read.  It is full of drama, and it seems very… simple? I am not sure what that means, but lots of love daydreaming, domestic duty loving, lets have babies planning, quilt making, small town gossip, family secrets, and good ole fashion family feuds.  Which none of these things are bad, and there is absolutely no language, sex or violence!  Nothing to skip over, ha.  And now, Beverly Lewis has me hooked.  I must know what happens to the rest of Abram’s daughters.  Sorry to my four, maybe five readers, we are heading to a lot of Amish territory.  Overall afterthought, how will it all end?!

Leave a comment