The Strangler Vine

Book 26 in 2017. “The Strangler Vine”, by M.J. Carter.

strangler-vine

This was a new type of historical mystery for me.  It is the first book I have read that took place during early 19th century in India.  If I am honest, I wasn’t quite sure I would make it through the book.  I almost gave up around page 80.  Ha.  There was enough of a story unfolding that I really did want to know what was going to happen.  It…was…slow… setting up.

William Avery is in the British military and given an assignment with a mysterious rogue  company man, Jeremiah Blake.  They are searching for a missing British civilian, famous author Xavier Mountstuart.  Their mission takes them on a journey through the jungles, villages, temples, and palaces across India.

It was a fairly clean book (meaning, not a lot of language and no sex), but had a little bit of a dark story line.  There was murder and bloodshed, fighting and some historical accounts of what it was like in India during British occupation.  I did skip over a lot of jungle detail.   It did keep me up to 1:30 am one night, which I am not a late night girl!  Overall afterthought, interesting.

Leave a comment